John Lennon: October 9, 1940

He’s always been my favorite Beatle and every year when his birthday or the date of his awful death rolls around it still chokes me up.  Everything has already been written about him and his life so I don’t think I can add anything except my heartfelt thanks for his art and the life he led.  For me, as with so many other people, his music and that of The Beatles is the soundtrack to my life.  I never tire of it.  The thing I try to keep in mind is that he was a human being with everything that entails, warts and all.  He wasn’t a god, he wasn’t Jesus he was just John and that’s all.  You had to accept him as he was and if you couldn’t then he advised that you “go jack off to the Rolling Wings”.  That’s one of the aspects that I love about him, he was honest, wickedly so…especially in his music.  Today I probably will walk over to Strawberry Fields in Central Park and join the throngs that I’m sure will be there.  I’ll remember the music and the joy he gave me.  There is nothing more to it.

Remember…think peace, act peace and imagine peace

NYC, 10/9/10

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

